Professors J. Vrouwenvelder T. Leiknes K. C. NG M. McCabe P. Saikaly P. Wang P. Hong H. Mishra N. Ghaffour
People Faculty Researchers Postdocs Students
Events Conference Seminar Workshop Sci-Café Social Events
Research Discovery Publications

Hybrid MEDAD wins MEED Sustainability Medal 2020

Jan 03, 2021

Hybrid MEDAD received the "Sustainability Medal 2020" for the project "An Innovative Hybrid Solar Desalination Cycle" at the MEED Project Awards held December 16th in Dubai, UAE.


WDRC Faculty rank amongst the world's top scientists and engineers

Nov 23, 2020

Six of our Water Desalination and Reuse Center (WDRC) faculty have been ranked among the top 2% of researchers globally, according to a list recently published by Stanford University.


Dr. Muhammad Saqib Nawaz wins best oral presentation award

Nov 11, 2020

Dr. Muhammad Saqib Nawaz, a postdoctoral fellow in Prof. Noreddine Ghaffour's group, won the best oral presentation award at the Virtual Pak Water & Energy Exhibition & Webinar event on November 3-5, 2020.


Dario Rangel Shaw receives the 2020 ISMET Discovery Award

Oct 20, 2020

Congratulations to Dario Rangel Shaw, a Ph.D. student in Prof. Pascal Saikaly's group for receiving the prestigious Discovery Award for Best Scientific paper from the International Society for Microbial Electrochemistry and Technology (ISMET).


Professor Peng Wang receives the Prince Sultan Bin Abdulaziz International Prize for Water

Oct 01, 2020

Professor Peng Wang is the 9th Award recipient of the Prince Sultan Bin Abdulaziz International Prize for Water (PSIPW) on the Alternative Water Resource category. Congratulations!


WDRC scientists selected as Special Issue Editors of "Developments in Innovative Membrane Desalination Processes"

Sep 29, 2020

Professor NorEddine Ghaffour, Dr. Sofiane Soukane, and Dr. Alla Alpatova are selected as the guest editors of a Special Issue Editors of "Developments in Innovative Membrane Desalination Processes"


TRSDC and KAUST announce winners of Brains for Brine Challenge

Nov 17, 2019

Three winners were announced during the international Aquatech 2019 event in Amsterdam. The competition identified new solutions to manage the disposal of brine.


OrbitCrops wins 2nd place at StartUp Istanbul

Nov 13, 2019

OrbitCrops was awarded second place at the Startup Istanbul event held on October 18-21, 2019.


Raid AlRowais wins best paper award

Nov 10, 2019

Congratulations to Raid Alrowais for winning the best paper award at the IMAT 2019 held on November 7-8, at Kyushu University, Kasuga, Japan.


Prof. Kim Choon Ng wins best paper award

Oct 27, 2019

Prof. Kim Choon Ng is the recipient of the best paper award in the category of Environment & Sustainability at The International Desalination Association World Congress 2019 held in Dubai, UAE, on Oct. 20-24, 2019.


Pascal Saikaly's group won the TAQADAM 2019 ‘People's Choice Award’

Sep 30, 2019

A team of researchers from Prof. Pascal Saikaly's group took home the 'People's Choice Award' at the third annual TAQADAM Showcase 2019.


Dr. Wakil Shahzad receives 2019 Golden Globe Tiger Award

Apr 25, 2019

Congratulations to Dr. Muhammad Wakil Shahzad for being a recipient of the 2019 'excellence & leadership in water' Golden Globe Tiger Award.


KAUST Associate Professor Peiying Hong wins environmental science award

Mar 12, 2019

Peiying Hong, KAUST associate professor of environmental science and engineering, recently won the 2019 James J. Morgan Environmental Science & Technology Early Career Award. She will receive the award at the upcoming 257th American Chemical Society National Meeting & Exposition in the U.S.


KAUST alumnus wins best presentation award at Morocco symposium

Mar 10, 2019

Dr. Babar Khan (Ph.D. '18) won the best oral presentation award at the First International Symposium on Nanomaterials and Membrane Science for Health, Water, Energy and Environment held from October 11 to 12, 2018, in Marrakesh, Morocco.


Imene El Tall receives the KAUST Individual Lab Safety Award for 2018

Feb 11, 2019

Imene El Tall, WDRC Safety Specialist received the KAUST Individual Lab Safety Award for 2018 at the third KAUST Laboratory Safety Recognition Awards Ceremony.